Instagram Stats – Huge Growth Projected for 2012

Here at Digital Mom Blog we test, review and recommend products. At no cost to you, we may receive a commission on purchases made from links.

Our favorite mobile photo social app – Instagram is set for a huge year in 2012.

Not only are they in the works on an Android application (yes, Instagram on Android!) – there membership has increased to 15 million in 2011 alone! Insane, can you say the little app that could?

instagram stats

Here are some more interesting facts about the growing Instagram app and community:

Accounts

  • 1 million: The number of accounts on Jan 1, 2011.
  • 15 million (and counting): The number of accounts on Jan 1, 2012.

Photos

  • 3: The average number of photos uploaded per second, one year ago.
  • 60: The average number of photos uploaded per second, today.
  • 400 million: The total number of photos shared on Instagram so far.
  • 51,600+: The most likes on a single photo.
From Instagram’s blog

Who’s WHO on Instagram?

Instagram originally housed beloved iPhoneographers and photographers but now it has opened to the masses.

  • Zooey Deschanel @zooeydeschanel
  • Taylor Swift @taylorswift
  • Tiffany and Company @tiffanyandco
  • Selena Gomez @selenagomez
  • Justin Bieber @justinbieber
  • Ryan Seacrest @ryanseacrest
  • MC Hammer @mchammer
  • Charity Water @charitywater
  • NPR @npr
  • Even President Obama has jumped on the Instagram bandwagon!
A few of my favorite bloggers’s to follow on Instagram (check out their blogs as well!):
  • @laura_elizabeth – Laura from Sunshine and Starlight
  • @tothink – Arianne from To Think is To Create
  • @danielle626 – Danielle from DanielleElwood.com
  • @bleubird – from Bleu Bird Blog
  • @amelie522 – Trish from Desperately Seeking Silence
  • @hellosarasophia – Sara from Love Sara Sophia
  • @amandaestes – Amanda from Amanda Blessed Life
  • @lepetitreve – Selena from Le Petit Reve
  • @charmedvalerie Valerie from Charmed Valerie
  • @southernfairytale – Rachel from A Southern Fairytale
  • @mommypr – Angela from Mommy PR

On Instagram? Follow us at @digitalmomblog_com

Leave Your Instagram Name For Us To Follow!